Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

XP boot loop

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 shafer5

shafer5

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:36 PM

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:27 PM

Please bare with me, I'll try to explain this issue to the best of my ability. I'm no expert by any means but I'm no dummy either, at least I don't think.......

My grandmother called and said she was having problems with her computer. When I get there it keeps giving me the "Safe Mode, Safe Mode with Networking, Start windows normally" there may be a couple other options but I can't remember. It keeps boot looping to that non stop. I couldn't even boot into the BIOS. When I put the XP cd in it looked like the HD was completely erased. There wasn't anything valuable on the PC so I went ahead and reformatted and reinstalled a fresh copy. Upon doing so I got it back up and running. As I was installing all the necessary drivers for the network card it prompted me to restart the computer and wouldn't you know, it went back into the boot loop.

Is this due to a faulty NIC? It is built into the motherboard so there's no replacing it, I don't think....

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 AustrAlien

AustrAlien

Inquisitor

• Members
  • 6,772 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:36 AM

Posted 03 January 2013 - 04:27 AM