Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Greetings!

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Computer Fixin Dog

Computer Fixin Dog

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:32 PM

Posted 15 December 2012 - 01:19 AM

I've been working on computers for a good ten years or more, but have been working at the local computer shop for the last three months or so.
I've still got a lot to learn, but I'm always contributing as I can. I'm basically here to learn as much as I can about malware and other issues, but mostly malware.
Most of what we encounter, we counquer. The last rootkit I found, though, I couldn't remove it no matter what I did. That's why I want to learn. I got their data clean enough to save, but had to wipe the drive and start them off with a fresh OS install.

I want to be the best I can be, not just with Windows, but with Mac and Linux as well. I'm committed to learning all I can.
I'm sure you'll see a decent amount of presence from me.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 rotor123

rotor123

• 8,093 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:32 PM

Posted 16 December 2012 - 10:44 AM

:welcome: You have picked a challenging field. One that can be rewarding when you do manage to recover the customer's data off of a failing drive. Do not forget to convince all customers to backup.