Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows 8 Downgrade/Dual Boot

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Shanon0403

Shanon0403

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:44 AM

Posted 09 December 2012 - 12:59 AM

I bought a Gateway DX4380G-UW308. I am a student in Graphic Design. After purchasing from Wal-Mart my school informed me I can not use Windows 8. So I asked my boyfriend and he said to put Windows 7 on a separate partition, or put my old HD from my computer in and boot from it. I bought Win 7 and the Bios will not let me boot from CD, also will not let me boot from my other HD. I called Gateway and they said to contact a local technician to reset my binaries which would void my warranty, and to top it off Wal Mart will not accept return... what are they talking about and is their an easier solution?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Grinler

Grinler

Lawrence Abrams

• Admin
  • 43,674 posts
  •  

Posted 10 December 2012 - 12:34 PM

Before you kill yourself adding Windows 7, what is the reason you cant Windows 7? What apps are you using? They should run fine on your Windows 8 machine.

#3 zombie76

zombie76

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:44 AM

Posted 11 December 2012 - 06:25 AM