Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

USB Patent information

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 TSE project

TSE project

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:44 AM

Posted 25 November 2012 - 02:12 PM

Hello,

I am currently a french student in TSE (Toulouse School of Economics) and within the framework of a project I have chosen to study initial USB .

I am working on the stardard induced by the introduction of universal serial bus.
I am very interested by the initial release period (up to 1996) and some information are very hard to find.

*I am wondering if the corporations which had created the USB had registered a patent (or some patents?)? And is it "open source"?
(In fact it seems natural that the initial idea was to create a standard across the "new" computer market so it implies no fees BUT in the other hand it seems painful to create such a wonder without making money on IT [not on the derived product around])

*At this time (up to 1996) who was creating the product USB (male & female)?
(Was it dedicated to the corporations that had created USB or was it available to any firm? If it was available was it free? To summerize if I wanted to create a firm in China in 1996 whose purpose was only to create USB ports should I have been allowed to do it without asking any authorization?)