Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Adding Memory Question

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 harkcomp

harkcomp

• Members
  • 92 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:30 PM

Posted 24 November 2012 - 10:57 PM

Greetings everyone! This is my first time on the forum and I'm looking forward to getting to know many of you.

I have a Dell Dimension 4700 computer and I am currently running XP Professional.
My system presently only has 248MB of ram and I want to upgrade by adding more memory. For no more than I do on the computer I have decided to just add a couple of 1G sticks of memory.

My questions are:

Can I simply install the two 1G sticks of memory into the remaining two memory slots and use it side-by-side with the old?

Or, for some reason do I need to remove the old memory sticks before installing the new 1G sticks?

I read somewhere about the memory modules need to have the same MHz of speed in order to be compatible with each other or else the system will slow down to the module with slowest MHz. Someone else told me that this only pertaines to making sure that each sgl module in the pair are of the same MHz speed, but you could have two sticks of one MHz and another pair of sticks with a different MHz and still be ok.
I was not convinced of this answer so decided to seek an answer here.

Thanks for your advice!

Harkcomp :wacko: