Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Avast registration

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 millipede

millipede

• Members
  • 614 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:33 AM

Posted 22 November 2012 - 09:20 PM

I've been using Avast for a few years now and have loved it, mostly. I HATE how they try to trick you into their trial upgrade. BIG green buttons, etc...
That aside, I've liked it a lot. I originally switched over from AVG a few years back when AVG changed in some way I didn't like. I don't really remember what it was at the time, but it likely had something to do with registration...

Anyway............
During the past few years and multiple computers for myself, family, and friends, using Avast, I've never had to do more than put my email address in... and up til right now, I've NEVER gotten any email from them.
Today, I installed it into a laptop I'm working on for someone. I used my own email address to register it. I'm not sure if I overlooked a checkbox or what... I'm thinking maybe their registration just recently changed?
At any rate... this time, I got an email from them right after I registered... What was worse and more confusing was what it said...

NOTE: Information email only - PLEASE DO NOT REPLY
Congratulations - you have registered for your new avast! Account portal.