Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Most Programs Stopped Working, Can't Redownload

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 JJBird239

JJBird239

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:13 PM

Posted 22 March 2006 - 08:34 PM

Hey, this is my first time posting and i really need your expertise... The first time i visited this site it was reguarding surfsidekick 3, i followed the instructions to get rid of it with hijackthis but apparently there were more viruses or i did it wrong. Now my computer is being bombarded with popups and for some reason most of my programs aren't working and i can't reinstall them because it won't let me. I can't download anything off the internet like adaware or spybot... i would concider reformatting but my computer isn't letting me save my important files. I've tried to burn my important files on a cd, save them on a ftp site and tried to save them on a portable drive to no avail, i can't lose these files, any suggestions...

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Albert Frankenstein

Albert Frankenstein

• Members
  • 2,707 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:13 AM

Posted 22 March 2006 - 10:57 PM

First, the data. You could remove your hard drive, and install it in a second working computer as a slave. Then you can go into the slave hard drive and copy your files.