Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Just To Be On The Safe Side...

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Klinkaroo

Klinkaroo

• Members
  • 1,139 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:40 PM

Posted 22 March 2006 - 06:25 PM

Just to be on the safe side. I might be installing a video card for someone but I have never done this before. I have read about it a bit and if I read right all I need to do is put the video card (AGP or PCI-E) in the slot and boot up and the Mobo should reconize it then log into windows and install the drivers??

Does anyone know of anything I should watch out for?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Lanscader

Lanscader

• Members
  • 466 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:40 PM

Posted 22 March 2006 - 06:38 PM

Make sure you plug the power in, too, if it needs power from the PSU (the new cards do, and mine has screeched at me when I forgot that). The mobo should recgonize it, and windows should display, but you will need to go to the manufacturer web site and download the latest drivers to get full use of the card.

When my computer has no video driver installed, it runs 800x600 at 60Hz, and makes the CPU process the graphics, too.

Edited by Lanscader, 22 March 2006 - 06:40 PM.

"Sir Lord Baron von Vader-han?" ~ Eddie Izzard

#3 JPHarvey

JPHarvey

• Members
  • 508 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:40 PM