Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Vista will not boot properly

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 smitben

smitben

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:21 AM

Posted 12 November 2012 - 12:57 PM

Hello all, I am new to the whole computer help forum. I have been using one of my brother's computer for the past year or so and today when I went to turn it on, and it kept redirecting me to the "Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause." It gave me two options of "Start normally" or "Launch Startup Repair (recommended)". No matter which I choose they seem to constantly restart the computer in an endless circle. I have tried the F8 options or safe mode and command prompt, but they too just restart the computer. Sadly I do not have a start-up disc or DVD. I am concerned. Any help would be appreciated.
Computer: Toshiba Satellite L505D-S5965
Operating System: Windows Vista
Chip: AMD Athalon x2 64

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Hadnjury

Hadnjury

• Members
  • 144 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:21 AM

Posted 13 November 2012 - 09:14 AM

Hello and Welcome to the forums,

Do you have access to another computer that you can download and burn cd's from?

If so, you can download Puppy linux live cd here

Instructions here

Two reasons for using this
1. See if your computer will boot at all