Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Outlook Express Identity Login

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 KellyCQ

KellyCQ

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:26 PM

Posted 04 November 2012 - 02:06 PM

So I have a freaking master's degree in IT but I am at a loss to help my elderly neighbor with Outlook Express on a Windows XP OS.

Her husband just died so she's had a lot of family/friends around helping her out - one decided to "help" her computer. All of a sudden she is asked to log into an identity when she tries to open Outlook Express (this is not a Windows account login, just an Outlook Express identity login). She does not know the password but says she was able to log into it successfully one time but now she does not know what that password was she used.

I know if she had forgotten her Windows account password I could boot the computer in Linux and grab the password hash and crack it. But I am not sure what to do in this situation. Can anyone recommend a program that can grab this "Identity Login" password or hash of it? I'm seeing some programs to grab passwords but it looks like they are more geared to grabbing browser passwords rather than OS passwords.