Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Have You Ever Seen Anything Like This?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 CommMajor101

CommMajor101

• Members
  • 114 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:45 AM

Posted 18 March 2006 - 10:51 PM

Hi everyone,
Newbie here. I'm actually trying to fix my mom's computer. Every time she logs onto her computer she gets this orange box that has detected some like 107 spyware things and it wants her to buy the software to fix it. However, I'm a little hesitate and want to do some research on this first. Some of the "spyware" that is being detected looks like the following examples:
112.2o7[2].txt, 2o7[2].txt, ad-logics[2].txt, adopt.hotbar[2].txt, ads.enliven[1].txt, ads.specificpop[2].txt, adserver.trb[1].txt, z1.adserver[2].txt, adserver.trb[1].txt, adserving.autotrader[2].txt, advertising[2].txt, servedby.advertising[2].txt, atdmt[2].txt. Obviously, I won't type all 107, so from those examples can anyone tell me anything? I hate it that it's on her p.c. and that I don't know what to do about it. Any and all advice is welcome. And please explain in mildly simple terms. Thanks in advance for your help!

Most sincerely,
CommMajor101

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 -David-

-David-

• Members
  • 10,603 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:45 PM

Posted 19 March 2006 - 04:55 AM

Hi CommMajor101.