Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

023 Hijack this many entries

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 xcaler

xcaler

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:08 PM

Posted 02 October 2012 - 11:01 PM

Can anyone help me i have many entries in hijackthis finds many 023 entries but they can not be deleted.
***I am new to this ...so see it like climing a mountain.
Can any one please help. Here is a sample copy entries

023 Service:@%SystemRoot%\system32\vds.exe,-100 (vds)-Unknown owner -C:\Windows\System32\vds.exe (file missing)
023 Service:@%SystemRoot%\system32\Wat\WatUX.exe,-601 (WatAdminSvc)-Unknown owner -C:\Windows\System32\Wat\WatAdminSvc.exe (file missing)

Thank you for any help

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Orange Blossom

Orange Blossom

OBleepin Investigator

• 37,112 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:08 PM

Posted 02 October 2012 - 11:20 PM

First question: What is your operating system? I suspect you have Windows 7. HijackThis does not parse things properly and it will SAY files are missing when in fact they are not.

In addition, BleepingComputer rarely uses HijackThis any more, and then only in malware removal. There are other tools we use that provide a more accurate read out.