Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

First Timer Reformatting

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Joker4302

Joker4302

• Members
  • 27 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:08 PM

Posted 17 March 2006 - 08:55 PM

Hello everyone this is my first time doing something like a reformatting and i am going to follow the simple instructions found here http://www.resnet.uni.edu/docs/reformatxp.html

Is there anything i should know or do before i dive into this? What can go wrong? Will this start me out with a new slate like the first day i got the computer? Any of your help and info is greatly appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Albert Frankenstein

Albert Frankenstein

• Members
  • 2,707 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:08 PM

Posted 17 March 2006 - 10:45 PM

The answer depends upon why you are reformatting. Is it because of malicious software causing problems on your computer? If so, then reformatting may not be enough. Many viruses (virii?) can survive a reformatting.

You can run Killdisk to delete everything including any infections. This is a free progam and can be downloaded HERE. Put the program on a floppy disk or a CD.