Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Update Where????????????

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 geologist

geologist

• Members
  • 124 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:58 AM

Posted 30 September 2012 - 05:18 PM

Prior to carrying out a system restore on my hp desktop I am studying an hp video on the process and the recommendation is to back up my material. It seems to imply that I can backup internally, but I am not sure. Can someone clarify this for me please?
The video can be seen here:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00814731&cc=uk&dlc=en&lc=en&product=3934576&tmp_track_link=ot_search

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Artrooks

Artrooks

• Members
  • 1,463 posts
  •  

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:54 PM

Hello geologist,

Just to clarify, a System Restore, is performed within Windows and only replaces system files and settings from a previous time/date. It does not influence data files such as My Documents, My Music, or photos. I don't believe that this is what you are requesting information about.