Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Upgrading Os

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Ibinevrwr2Y2Ga

Ibinevrwr2Y2Ga

• Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:06 PM

Posted 16 March 2006 - 12:38 PM

Hello all. Complete newbie(senior). Ihave computer built in '91. Running Win98SE. 32MB RAM, intel celeron processor, total space 9756MB, avail space 4173 MB. My ?, can I remove Win 98 and install XP on this comp & if so is it worth it?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 dc3

dc3

Bleeping Treehugger

• Members
  • 30,365 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:06 PM

Posted 16 March 2006 - 12:57 PM

You would have to increase you RAM, 32MB isn't enough even according to M$, most people will sugget at least 256MB of RAM. The porblem is with a computer of this age, RAM is going to be hard to get, and expensive. Another problem with this old of a machine is the 32MB may be it's max capacity, we would need the make and model to find out what its capacity is, and what type it will take.

If you are going to purchase the XP, I would highly suggest that you consider investing in a new machine, such as a Dell, Hp, or even Gateway. You can get a computer that will absolutely blow the doors off of you current machine for around $300.

If you still wish to pursue this, please provide us with some more spec, such as...