Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Wireless Netowrking Equipment?

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Izzy25

Izzy25

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:47 PM

Posted 15 March 2006 - 10:37 PM

Im a total newbie at networking in fact this is my first attempt in connecting two computers. my cousin asked me if i can connect his two desktops. My question is if i have 2 desktops and i want to connect both of them so that i am able to connect to the internet via DSL and maybe share files and printers. so im just not sure of the equipment i might need i know i need a router for sure but im not sure if i need to desktop adapter or if i just need one desktop adapter. and will i be able to be online at the same time. thanx in advance.

here are the links to what i was thinking of buying and any suggestions on how well you think theyll work
Netgear Wireless Router
Netgear Desktop Adapter

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 acklan

acklan

Bleepin' cat's meow

• Members
  • 8,529 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:47 AM

Posted 16 March 2006 - 01:17 AM

Those will work just fine. I would recommend a print server built into the router if you friend wants to share a printer between the two computers.