Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Missing "non-critical" Microsoft Services.

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Credomane

Credomane

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:46 PM

Posted 05 September 2012 - 11:53 AM

I work on computers for a living and got a laptop Monday afternoon the was badly infected with just about everything under the sun (trojans, viruses, adware, borderline malicious programs). Spent nearly all day yesterday getting that all removed, manually fixing some system file permissions, unhiding nearly everything on C:, fixing some registry permissions and reinstalling IPv4 & IPv6 (to fix modified info forcing malicious dns servers). The whole time I'm doing this yesterday something was bothering me. Decided to keep the laptop an extra day and glad I did. There are a number of windows services completely deleted.

Windows Updates, BITS, Windows Defender, Windows Firewall, ICS, Security Center, Event Logging Service and probably more that I haven't noticed and missing from the registry. While I know I can boot up my one of my Win7 virtual machines and export hives* of the needed registry keys I was wondering if someone knew of a program that could repair all of these services automatically since windows can't short of a complete a complete reinstall.