Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Ububtu 11.1 failed on install

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 rootessa

rootessa

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:24 PM

Posted 03 September 2012 - 10:38 PM

Please bear with me. I don't know anything about Linux. Newbie here in terms of Linux. I have an old laptop I haven't used for a while. Update manager asked to update to 10.04. I did. all was well. Next day it asked to update to 11.10 so I did against my better judgement. 11.1 was running and at 38 minutes remaining it froze and the screen turned gray. After a couple of hours it was the same so I turned it off. WRONG!
So today, I turn it on, it cycles to the Unbuntu screen and the next screen is black and blank with a blinking cursor. It doesn't change after a couple of hours except to say bluetooth is enabled and a couple of similar things. After a couple of hours, again, it just blinks. I know this is vague. I don't know what info to provide but if someone will ask, I'll find the answers. Thanks!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 rootessa

rootessa
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  

Posted 03 September 2012 - 11:40 PM

i've determined that this is an upstart page. I have no idea what to do about it.

#3 buddy215

buddy215

• 13,254 posts
  •  

Posted 04 September 2012 - 08:59 AM