Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows 7 Libraries

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 russcart

russcart

• Members
  • 99 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:38 AM

Posted 03 September 2012 - 10:30 PM

I am fairly new to Windows 7. About a week ago I upgraded my computer and installed the OS, a clean install on a SSD used for booting and the programs that are normally used. All of the other programs and data, pictures, documents, etc are stored on a dedicated drive solely for that purpose. My question is how do I move, or can I move the Library which by default contains separate folders for documents, music, pictures and videos? Instead of the library being located in the "C" drive, I would like to relocate it to my "J" drive. I would like to save everything to the library on the new drive and not load up my SSD with all of the files normally saved to it.
Thank you

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 russcart

russcart
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 99 posts
  •  

Posted 03 September 2012 - 10:34 PM

I forgot to mention, there are multiple users (profiles) on this computer. They can all share the common library once it is relocated.

#3 rotor123

rotor123

• 8,093 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:38 AM

Posted 03 September 2012 - 10:44 PM