Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

System Restore from an external CD?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ChrisRS

ChrisRS

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:07 PM

Posted 16 August 2012 - 06:02 PM

I'm not very technical, so please be gentle with me!

I would be most grateful for some advice please.

My old but trustworthy Toshiba Satellite with Windows Vista decided to crash and the power ran out during my attempt to recover. First of all, it wouldn't do anything, but now it gets as far as giving me the usual four options including spending $9.99 (via PayPal, so credit card is safe!!) at SystemDiscs.com, but their disk only takes me to a place showing two recent system dumps, but not proper System Restore Points.

The NORMAL or LAST WORKING versions crash with a Blue-Screen-Of-Death and the SAFE MODE option remains in suspended animation after a line including "CRCDISK.SYS. I haven't tried SAFE MODE WITH COMMAND PROMPT as I wouldn't have the faintest idea what to do with the command prompt, it presumably not being edible.

I also tried the AVG Rescue CD (also downloaded and burnt on another computer) and while it appears that the hard drive is ok and the file structures can be seen to be intact, etc., there's no option to rebuild or return to a previous Restore Point.