Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

agonizingly slow computer

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 rjarch

rjarch

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:59 PM

Posted 11 August 2012 - 09:35 AM

I am not a computer expert by any means. recently my connection to the internet has become incredibly slow. I got an error message the other day that said virtual memory low, yet I haven't done anything different.
The question I have is, is there an anti-virus program I can use to se if it helps? and is there a way to check the applications to see if they are legit or not?
I have a Dell laptop Inspiron 9300 with Windows XP home edition. I just need to have it work well for a couple of months before I get a new computer. It is just frustrating. Any help would be appreciated, as I said, I don't know the tricks to search for problems.
Thank you
rj architect

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Animal

Animal

Bleepin' Animinion

• Site Admin
  • 35,117 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:59 PM

Posted 11 August 2012 - 12:50 PM

Take a look at the following topics for some troubleshooting tips:

After you have gone through those guides and you feel you still have issues, please be a little more specific of what steps you have taken and describe exactly whats going on when the slowness occurs. You can continue on with this topic. for further assistance.