Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Vista doesn’t shut down

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jaguer

jaguer

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:05 PM

Posted 18 July 2012 - 11:27 AM

Hello and best wishes for the forum, this is my first time here. My PC has Windows Vista Home Basic SP1, 1GB of RAM, dual 2 GHz processor.

The problem is that Vista doesn’t shut down since about one week ago.

When clicking on the OFF icon during normal session, the machine starts the process but gets only to a screen of closing session and keeps that way (doesn’t reach the turning off the computer screen); pressing Ctrl+Alt+Del doesn’t respond, nor the physical ON/OFF button, with no choice but to disconnect the electricity.

When turning on the PC again, starts the menu for safe mode because Windows was not closed properly at the last session. If Vista is shut down from safe mode, it logs out and shuts down with no problems.

Thank you so much for your valuable support, I really don´t know what to do.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 56,386 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:35 PM

Posted 18 July 2012 - 01:12 PM

System manufacturer and model?

Louis

#3 Allan

Allan

• BC Advisor
  • 8,644 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:35 PM

Posted 18 July 2012 - 01:22 PM