Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Student Security

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 teachstar

teachstar

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:44 AM

Posted 06 March 2006 - 10:09 PM

Hi! Bleeping Computer Community,

I'm a perspective English teacher and I was just wondering about privacy precautions concerning students. Is there any possible way to ensure privacy of grades, demographic information and personal work from internet intruders and "interested" students? If so, which programs would you suggest for protection of said information? How reliable are mentioned products?

Any and all suggestions are welcome. Thank you for your time!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 acklan

acklan

Bleepin' cat's meow

• Members
  • 8,529 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:44 AM

Posted 06 March 2006 - 10:59 PM

There are several thing you can do. No one program will give you total security. First is to develop a layered security system on your computer. Start with

Antivirus
Firewall
Antispyware. Both automatic and manual scanning software
Router NAT firewall. Even if you have only one computer.
Where possible do not leave data on the computer. Save to removeable storage.
Encrypt your data when possible.
Never let someone use your computer. Of course this aplies where practical.

Here is a list of recommended software.