Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

File Folder has gone missing

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Residual

Residual

• Members
  • 34 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:39 PM

Posted 15 July 2012 - 05:28 PM

I'm an a digital artist, and I keep all my work-in-progresses in one folder labeled 'Art' under My Pictures. The night before last I was working on an image on Photoshop, got tired, saved it into my Art folder and closed the program. The next day I boot up, messed around on the internet a while, then go to open the image and work on it some more...and it's not there. In fact, my entire Art folder is suddenly missing, as well as all the images under My Pictures that weren't filed into folders.

Baffled, I looked through my other folders to see if they got merged somehow, but they didn't.

Next, I went to my Recycling bin to see if they had accidently been deleted. I didn't see it in there, but I restored everything anyways, just in case. It still didn't show up.

I then tried to do a few file searches on my computer with the names I could remember. Only a couple of the names I tried showed up, but they were only Shortcuts. When I clicked the shortcuts it told me "The item 'Name.psd' that this shortcut refers to has been changed or moved, so this shortcut will no longer work properly. Do you want to delete this shortcut?"