Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Phone co. messed up my network!

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 IPT

IPT

• Members
  • 99 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:33 AM

Posted 12 July 2012 - 06:04 PM

So I set up a newtwork a while ago with an old Linkseys router. I am not a techie so I did it all with help from here. There is a main computer up front with shared docs. Two laptops get wireless internet and to the shared docs via the router. I also just upgraded the "host computer" and using windows 7 wizards re-established the network. Along comes the phone company to "upgrade" our router. They switch things over and now our network is kaput. Only one computer can get to the intenet and neither can get to the shared docs. When I use the wizard to trouble shoot it I get a "the DNS server is not responding". I had them come back and they now tell me I set up a "port" on the old router and they need to know what it was so they can re-configure the Networking. Unfortunatly I set that all up a long time ago and cannot for the life of me remember the password to get into the Linksy router.