Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need just a basic version of MS Word

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 drshi

drshi

• Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:43 AM

Posted 12 July 2012 - 02:29 PM

I've been using Lotus WordPro for eight years; IBM has issued no upgrades or even updates during this entire time and it still remains far superior to Word. However, I'm a writer/copyeditor and it's tough to find freelance work due to Microsoft's ongoing monopolization efforts involving sweetheart deals with manufacturers to bundle Word with its new computers. Thus, I find myself being strong-armed into having to install Word on my system due to publisher's virtual insistence on the submission of text in Word formatting.

From my research so far, it seems that my needs would be conformably filled by the 2002 version and its tracking-and-reviewing features; but trying to zero in on the right download has my head spinning because of Microsoft's compulsion for version-du-jour upgrades. So far, it seems that my best option is "Word version 2002, the Office XP word processor," which I can buy for only $19 -- except for the minor detail that the product description says that this "XP word processor" does not work with my XP platform. Huh? (Its System Requirements: 2000 Pro, 98, 98 2nd Edition, ME, and NT)