Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Overclocking help - FSB speed won't adjust

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 thegrimfandango

thegrimfandango

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:47 PM

Posted 11 July 2012 - 04:20 PM

Hi folks,
I'm relatively new to overclocking, I've been getting as much advice online as possible and trying small tweaks, and I'm hoping someone can help me.

I currently have a middling gaming rig with:

Gigabyte X38-DS5 motherboard (reported as DQ6 by CPU-Z)
Intel core 2 duo e6600 cpu
8gb (4x2gb) Corsair dominator DDR2 ram
Corsair 650w PSU
Geforce 9800GTX+ gpu
Samsung 1TB HD103UJ HDD
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
AWARD BIOS 7F (upgraded from 6 to try and resolve issue)

The stock speed for the core2duo is 2.4GHz, but I know I can get at least 3.0GHz stable as the PC was built for me by an ex-coworker at the LAN gaming centre I used to work at and all the PCs were clocked to that with the same components.
Mine was also overclocked by him to 3.0GHz stable for most of a year until about a month ago when I had HDD failure problems (bad sectors developed on secondhand HDDD) and bluescreening.
Those issues are resolved now, but at some point the BIOS got reset and I had to 'redo' the overclocking.