Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Banding issue on monitor

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 DrakesInception

DrakesInception

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:14 PM

Posted 06 July 2012 - 06:34 PM

This is my first time posting here and I'm not sure if this is the right place to post, if not I'm sorry. This is really starting to bother me though so...well, here goes

My new monitor has banding issues "The presence or formation of visible stripes of contrasting color."

I don't notice it on solid colors (thankfully), however if I use a gradient on photoshop, or even if a website has a gradient (steam), I can see it. I also see it on some sun-ray like effects in video games. In Arkham City, moon rays show slight banding around Batman's cape (if that makes sense).

Also, I tried installing magictune, because it came with my monitor, but when I finished installing I got an error message and a blue screen. Luckily my computer is fine.
I've played around with the gamma constantly and all monitor settings, even in my nvidia settings and I still have banding issues. I'm connected VIA HDMI, I have a 560ti graphcis card, 8gb RAM, and my resolution is set at 1920 x 1080.

Ultimately I'm just wondering if I should be concerned or if a little banding is normal on a monitor this large.

Some additional info: