Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I'm New To All This Spy And Malware Stuff

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 The Box

The Box

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:22 AM

Posted 03 March 2006 - 05:27 AM

Hello,

This is "The Box" and I am new here and new to coping with Spy and Malware. My daughter has a pesky program on her P.C. called Collected 5.1 and it replicates itself when deleted. I understand that Hi-Jack This will get rid of it but I must be dumb because I find that particular program cumbersome. Does anyone here know how to get rid of this particular pest of a program?

Here's Hoping,

The Box

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 jgweed

jgweed

• Staff Emeritus
  • 28,473 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:22 AM

Posted 03 March 2006 - 11:32 AM

With all the immense benefits we derive from the Internet, there comes a price: malware in all its forms. When troubleshooting something like this, the first step is to run your updated resident anti-virus, and then several anti-spyware applications (also updated) in Safe Mode. In many cases, a combination of these will safely and quickly get rid of the problem.