Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

slow running

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 al-123

al-123

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:48 AM

Posted 19 June 2012 - 08:04 PM

Hello all. First timer here. I have some knowledge of computers as have used since dos days. I have a e-machine m2350 with windows xp service pack 3. It is extremely slow with everything. Even when you click the start button it often take several seconds before it comes up. I have run several malware programs such as malware byte and hijack this. using microsoft essentials. I quired this because the owner could not get it to run and got a new computer. I have managed to get it running but now slow and accesses hard drive a lot. It only has 448 ram and maybe this is as fast as it goes. All help will be appreciated.

Thanks Al

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 noknojon

noknojon

• Banned
  • 10,871 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:48 AM

Posted 20 June 2012 - 04:01 AM

Even when you click the start button it often take several seconds before it comes up.

Hello and Welcome -
The above quote is not unusual on many systems, and many computers (older/smaller XP systems in general) can be slow at startup -
For a slow XP system please start with this Slow Computer Checklist
Make sure you have not over crowded the system, due to the smaller memory capacity.