Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I Think I Deleted My System...

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 wishiknew

wishiknew

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:23 PM

Posted 28 February 2006 - 07:21 AM

Hi guys I'm new to bleepingcomputer and whats a better way to introduce myself with a great question.

This is the main problem my computer will start windows but it will only show the desktop picture i have set up. No icons show up just the background picture not even my trusty toolbar. I can only reset it with the power button or by good ol' CTRL ALT DEL and logging off.

Now here is were i think i messed up my system. So I tried deleting some spyware with this vundofix thing on safe mode and i typed up the regular things when it had asked me to do so.

for the first file path i typed this
C:\WINDOWS\system32\jkhhh.dll

and when it had asked me to type out the second i got to about this far and i hit the enter key
C:\WINDOWS\system32

i meant to hit the \ key but instead i hit enter. i knew as soon as i hit enter i messed up my registry. i am just wondering if there is a way i can reinstall my now missing files (i don't even know if they are deleted or not). i can really use any help i can get i would truly appreaciate it.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 acklan

acklan

Bleepin' cat's meow

• Members
  • 8,529 posts
  •