Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Random shut down during game (different prob from other!)

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Zartikus

Zartikus

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:28 PM

Posted 16 May 2012 - 11:29 PM

Hi All,

I'm having some compatibility issues with my new gfx card, I think. I'm pretty new at this so I'm having trouble diagnosing it.

Card is a Radeon Saphire 6850, found here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102908

My computer is this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883227339

Problem:
System will either freeze (lock up, force a manual shutdown) or automatically restart during gaming. This occurs at odd intervals. Sometimes I will be able to play for hours and it will be fine - other times I will log in and freeze within 10 minutes. Once I freeze one time, I almost always will freeze again in the same spot.

I've updated drivers, I've updated windows service packs, I'm fairly sure i've ruled out overheating (comp runs ~50 degrees) THOUGH I am not sure if I can rule out overheating of the gfx card itself - don't know how to check.

Really not sure what else to do!

Any help would be spectacular.

Thanks,
Zack

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Zartikus

Zartikus
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:28 PM