Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Want to be done with MS for good

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 skymaster191

skymaster191

• Members
  • 146 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:03 AM

Posted 14 May 2012 - 12:41 PM

My goal is to never use a Microsoft product ever again, if possible. I have been researching this on and off for a few years. But easier said then done, since MS has monopolized the market. Now I am unable to use Windows Update. I have spent an inordinate amount of time trying to fix it. I'm sick of it, and I don't like the way they do business. When my current anti-virus license expires, I want to try a free or lower cost OS.

I was looking at Ubuntu. It looks like it might suit my needs for office application, email, Internet access, and photos. It's free, so I guess it's worth a try. I've been waiting it out for awhile to see how the other operating systems would evolve.

Any thoughts on alternative operating systems? I'm serious about this. I want Microsoft out of my life.

Edited by hamluis, 16 May 2012 - 11:07 AM.
Moved from DOS/PDA/Otther to Linux - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 myrti

myrti

Sillyberry

• Malware Study Hall Admin
  • 33,771 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:03 PM

Posted 16 May 2012 - 10:28 AM

Hi,