Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Ubuntu error - Ubuntu Software Center fails to repair

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 absoluteajk

absoluteajk

• Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:08 AM

Posted 14 May 2012 - 12:17 AM

Hi, I'm a beginner at using linux/ubuntu. I am using Ubuntu 12.04 64-bit with Gnome 3. I've tried installing prozilla using PPA repositories. It didn't install and gave me the following error message:

Unpacking prozilla (from .../prozilla_2.0.4~precisebuild1-0tahutek1_amd64.deb) ...
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/prozilla_2.0.4~precisebuild1-0tahutek1_amd64.deb (--unpack):
trying to overwrite '/usr/share/locale/locale.alias', which is also in package locales 2.13+git20120306-3
Errors were encountered while processing:
/var/cache/apt/archives/prozilla_2.0.4~precisebuild1-0tahutek1_amd64.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

I tried opening Ubuntu Software Center and repairing the packages, but it failed and gave me this:

installArchives() failed: (Reading database ...
(Reading database ... 5%
(Reading database ... 10%
(Reading database ... 15%
(Reading database ... 20%
(Reading database ... 25%
(Reading database ... 30%
(Reading database ... 35%
(Reading database ... 40%
(Reading database ... 45%
(Reading database ... 50%
(Reading database ... 55%