Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

After Deleting Virus, Is The Programme Safe?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
2 replies to this topic

#1 tcswaite

tcswaite

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:47 PM

Posted 11 May 2012 - 10:51 AM

Hi,

Firstly, I am not very good with computers so forgive me if my question seems ridiculous.

Secondly, have no other choice but to download a torrent of a program (Articulate Studio Pro) otherwise I would have to folk out over $1000 for the software. However, every version I download has viruses/malware stuff in it. I have got rid of all the viruses (using AVG and malwarebytes anti-malware), but I have to keep downloading program after program trying to find a non-infected version (which is obviously putting my computer at constant risk).

What I need to know is: Once I have got rid of the virus, are the downloaded files safe to use?

Are the files purposely put online to infect your computer and will not contain the desired file? Or do they contain the needed files, but are cased in a virus?

Also, are there any sites you recommend for downloading the file I need, I am currently using xxxxxxx

Thanks,

Tcwaite

Edited by CatByte, 12 May 2012 - 10:04 AM.
removed link to torrent

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 CatByte

CatByte

bleepin' tiger

• Malware Response Team
  • 14,664 posts
  •