Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Should a website be W3C certified/compliant?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Snoopy101

Snoopy101

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:51 AM

Posted 08 May 2012 - 10:08 AM

I have an important and a bit of urgent question.
I'm new to web development and am about to hire an Indian IT company via freelancer to create a rental website for me.
The IT company will make the site in core PHP but when I asked them to guarantee that the website will be W3C certified/compliant, they replied that it is not possible and that even Google is not W3C certified/compliant.
The reason I want the website to be W3C certified/compliant, is to secure that it is free of any errors and will work on future web browsers.
I would love to have your comments on this and to what alternative I should request from the web developer.
Also, I would love to hear what else I should request from the developer, as well as what I should look out for/secure is done, so I can add it on the agreement before the IT company starts the work.
I hope this will lead to an interesting discussion on how to secure that a developer creates a really good and secure website.
Thank you everybody.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 cryptodan

cryptodan

Bleepin Madman

• Members
  • 21,868 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:51 AM