Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Screen stays black after bootup

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 g.k.

g.k.

• Members
  • 415 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:33 AM

Posted 30 April 2012 - 07:26 AM

Hi guys,

I have an Acer Aspire 5520 laptop that I have been using for 3-4 years. Besides overheating and short battery life, I hadn't had any problems until today. Yesterday it was running fine, but today the screen stays black when I boot it up. The screen doesn't turn black - it stays black as if I hadn't booted up at all. I haven't installed any new software. I haven't dropped it, so it should have no recent physical damage. It had 2 GB RAM and about 100-150 GB free space, so that shouldn't be a problem either. I haven't had any malware problems recently.

When I boot it up, it makes the noise it always does when booting up - fan running, and a few clicks coming from the CD drive. The BIOS light flashes normally. No strange beeps or anything. I have to close it manually afterwards. I'm thinking the display card has failed somehow, but is there any way I can know for sure or fix it?

I tried to run it after unplugging all USB drives, the mouse and the cooling pad. I ran it while charged and when not getting charged, but it still doesn't work.

I use W7 by the way, if it's relevant in any way.

Edited by g.k., 30 April 2012 - 07:30 AM.