Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Motherboard RAM issue (new build)

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 David Ashcroft

David Ashcroft

• Members
  • 169 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:33 AM

Posted 28 April 2012 - 04:05 AM

Hi everyone, im new to building computer, i work in IT, however computer building isn't really my profession, but i thought i would give it a go.

So i purchased the P8B75-M LE Motherboard by Asus. I have installed all the hardware and the system is running perfectly with no issues. If you type this motherboard into Google and click on images, you will see that there are only two slots for the RAM to go into. I purchased two 4GB sticks of Kingston RAM.

The RAM sockets according to the Motherboard manual are:

Channel A - DIMM_A1
Channel B - DIMM_B1

When i put any of the sticks of RAM into Channel A (the one closest to the CPU) the computer does not start, instead i get DRAM LED light up, and nothing else. If i put RAM into both slots A and B, i get the same thing, however it flashes. I tried pressing the MEMOK button on the motherboard on both of these occasions but it didnt fix it.

If i put a 4GB stick into just Channel B, and turn the computer on, and then press the MEMOK button, it restarts and works perfectly from this point. I would ideally like to use both stick of RAM to make the computer work on 8GB of RAM.