Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Somebody Save Me!

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Wiley1

Wiley1

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:50 AM

Posted 24 February 2006 - 06:13 PM

I'm new to BleepingComputer, I just joined last night after a coworker referred me for help. On Tuesday Feb. 21st my computer was hit with a virus or a hacker. I don't even know how to tell what I got hit with. I used my computer early in the afternoon and was on the internet with no problems. When I turned my computer on just five hours later everything was screwed up. My wallpaper had been restored to the default setting, I had a ton of icons on my desktop that weren't there before and none of my Microsoft Office tools are working. The icons for Word, Excel, and Powerpoint are on the desktop, but when I click on them I get the following message, "This action is only valid for products that are currently installed." My internet explorer had also been reset and I had to go through the Internet Connection Wizard to get back onto the net.