Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Whats the value of this computer?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 justcheckingin

justcheckingin

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:20 PM

Posted 26 April 2012 - 06:46 PM

I'm a college student with a lack of money to spend on a computer but my laptop just died on me and I need a new one for computer classes.

I would obviously prefer an i7 but I can't find one for a decent price.

How much would you spend on this setup? (used)

Dell XPS 15 i5 8Gb Ram 500Gb

Specs:
Intel Core i5 M460 2.53
8GB DDR3 RAM
500Gb Hard drive
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
Nvidia GeForce GT 420M 1Gb AND Integrated Intel graphics for battery saving
15.6" wide screen 720p
JBL 2.0 Speaker with integrated subwoofer on the bottom
Webcam 2.0 megapixel and does HD video
DVD writer
EXTENDED 9 cell battery ~6 hours of battery life
BACKLIT keyboard

Or for anywhere between $300-700 could I build a better one? If so, what should I look for?

Things I typically use my laptop for would be: programming, photo editing, surfing the web, watching movies, listening to music, and occasionally video editing.

Mod EDIT: moved down one forum to Questions and advice for Buying a New Computer ~~ boopme

Edited by boopme, 27 April 2012 - 07:28 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 justcheckingin

justcheckingin
  • Topic Starter

• Members