Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Messed Up My Hard Drive What Do I Do Pplleeaassee

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 peterpete

peterpete

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:29 PM

Posted 24 February 2006 - 10:41 AM

Hello ive gat a pc problem,Im new to messing with hard drives and i probably shouldnt of done this cause i dont know how this works but i have an older pc old slow celeron processor,128mb ram and an western digital 7.2 gb hard drive that had windows me on it.I tried to download a ghost restore cd for from my other computer for windows xp(now I know you cant do that),well it didnt work of course,and it wiped out some files on my hard drive for windows me that was on it.I dont have a windows me boot disk but i do have a windows 95 software disk with installation book and a windows 98 upgrade disk.Everytime i boot the pc even if i have it on boot from cd rom it tries to boot the hard drive,which of course has missing files and is trying to load windows ME.I found out you can FDISK a hard drive and reformat it then possibly boot the windows 95 programand then maybe i can use the windows 98 upgrade disk from there.I cant get fdisk to work from dos i dont know how to type computer commands,not sure if im doing it right,i would like to be able to clean out hard drive completely and start over new,not even sure if i ha