Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

BIOS question HP win 7 64 i7 2630

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 woodsman345

woodsman345

• Members
  • 113 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:26 PM

Posted 20 April 2012 - 08:53 PM

Hey all,
I am a relative novice trying to learn...I have an HP dv6 i7 and installed an intel 510 SSD. It is much faster but I have the understanding that I should or need to run in ahci mode to get the most out of the ssd and have no idea what mode I have, or if ahci is what I actually need. The bios in this HP is not very friendly. Insyde BIOS version F.1A Can't manipulate hardly anything.
I don't want to brick this thing but am willing to follow advice to optimize this. Before I do anything I would like to create a BIOS backup so I can restore things in case I do brick it...if this is possible. I see this has HP_Tools in a drive with bios versions. The SSD did prevent me from booting to the backup and restore drive when needed one time and HP told me that would happen with an SSD. How can I tell if this runs in AHCI mode or not and what potential benefit would I see from it??
Thanks win 7 64 i7 2630

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 rotor123

rotor123

• 8,093 posts
  •  

Posted 21 April 2012 - 10:49 AM

Right Click on Computer
Select Properties at the bottom of the list.
Then on the left side select
Device Manager