Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows Explorer error after finding virus

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 johnoctavious

johnoctavious

• Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:57 AM

Posted 08 April 2012 - 11:15 PM

Hello. This is my first time ever posting on this forum so I'm begging all of you for some help and mercy for someone who's not too tech-savy :). I'm having a problem with my son's computer (and trust me - he's grounded after this). He runs on Windows XP.

The problem started 2 days ago. My son says he downloaded some games (not sure from where) and his computer all of a sudden went crazy. Here's what basically happens since then.

On startup, the very first thing that pops up is a box titled "Data Execution prevention". The message on it reads:
"To help protect your computer, Windows has closed this program.
Name: Windows Explorer
Publisher: Microsoft Corporation".
At the same time, my desktop loads but it goes to a white background that reads "Active Desktop Recovery"

After I click the "Close Message" button found on the "Data Execution Prevention" box, another message pops up that reads:
"Windows Explorer has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the incovenience"