Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

vostro 1000

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 davereese

davereese

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:00 AM

Posted 05 March 2012 - 09:13 PM

Hello my name is Dave and im having troubles with my Dell Vostro 1000. Ok Im a computer tech. So atleast i like to think so. But when it comes to laptops not so much! I could build, Fix, Tear apart PC's But im not so good with laptops. My issue is that when i got this laptop the lady said it was working then it just died. So when she said i could have it i ofcourse said yes i never turndown a free computer or laptop. So i took the computer home plugged it in and it turned on. So i felt bad that this lady just gave me a free laptop. So i called her up and said listen i plugged it in and it works fine. She said give it alittle it will shut off. So sure enough it did. So i put in 3 different hard drives formatted the all and put windows xp on them and all 3 of them after I installed everything hard this wierd sound like a high pitch winding down noise then a click. and it shuts down or turns off. Some time it goes to a blue screen that has some codes on it and says memory dump. Now i could type them codes down but i was just wondering if anyone has had this problem or might know what it might be. If you need the error codes ill be more then happy to type