Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Generally Odd Behaviour

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 The Count

The Count

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:19 AM

Posted 17 February 2006 - 07:03 PM

Hi all

I'm a newbie to the site and not really sure which forum to post this in, but this seems as good as any.

I have a problem with my PC and I don't even know if its software or hardware related.

The best thing that I can do is list my symptoms and hope that someone can point me in the right direction so here goes:

All of the following symptoms are intermittent. When they happen, several of the symptoms occur at the same time. They always occur when the pc is in standby.

- Desktop icons have been moved
- System clock has lost several hours or clock has got stuck when the pc last went into standby
- mouse and keyboard are unresponsive - usually free up after a few minutes
- sometimes mouse is fine but keyboard completely stops responding

When I check taskmanager there is nothing running that is taking up system resource.

I am running WinXP media centre Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600

Any guidance gratefully accepted

Thanks in advance,

Phil

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 The Count

The Count
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  

Posted 17 February 2006 - 07:18 PM