Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Remove Smart Protection 2012

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 AGirlinChiTown

AGirlinChiTown

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:50 AM

Posted 27 February 2012 - 10:09 PM

I am not a computer pro, but I figured this out myself finally and it worked on my PC. Thank God.
Smart Protection 2012 is really a nasty virus. I couldn't open a single program on my computer, search files, browse, nothing
and there were constant stupid fake blackmail pop ups about how I'd better install their software to get rid of the virus or else.
There's little help on the internet either because everybody's just trying to make a buck off us. So ---

* Restart computer
* While it's rebooting, Press the F8 key a bunch of times
* A black & white screen will come up. Use your up/down arrows to select "Safe Mode with Networking"
* It will start loading alot of files that fill the screen. Don't worry about it.
* Then there will be a message that says: " Are you sure you want to do this? You could go back to a restore
point instead" ( or something to that effect..)
* Click "NO" ( meaning you don't want to continue and heck yeah let's try to go back to a restore point)
* Then just follow the prompts. Very easy
* You'll be asked to Pick a date to go back to. I clicked a date (1) week ago, just to be extra sure.