Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

FYI about RTE (Rich Text Editor) and BBCodeXtra

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 RevGAM

RevGAM

• Members
  • 718 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:10 AM

Posted 24 February 2012 - 11:45 PM

FYI, I'm not an expert in this area, I am simply sharing my experience so that others can avoid the frustration I felt. :whistle:

I just finished a bitter struggle to the end to reconcile the differences between my computer and a mysterious problem I was having using the Rich Text Editor on this forum. Okay, so that sounds a bit melodramatic.:wink:

The story goes like this: I was experiencing two problems using the editor on here with RTE enabled (in my settings) and one with it turned off. FYI, I'm using FF10.
  • After entering the full editor from Fast Reply, or after clicking Preview Post, everything in the editor would be formatted just as in the preview. Well, almost everything. Some things were wrong. That means that, instead of plain text with BBCode and emoticon code, in the EDITOR I saw the preview of the codes, and I couldn't edit the coding.