Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Overclock Sony Laptop

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 kingdan

kingdan

• Members
  • 31 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:16 AM

Posted 16 February 2006 - 04:40 PM

hey,
im new to this overclocking thing. I was wondering if u can overclock a Sony Vaio VGN-FS742/W.
im running on Centrino 1.73, 512 megs of RAM and 80 gigs of harddrive. another question, even though i have 512 of RAM how come in the Systems tab it says i have 504 of RAM?
thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Mr Alpha

Mr Alpha

• Members
  • 1,875 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:16 PM

Posted 16 February 2006 - 05:36 PM

Most BIOSes on laptops are locked so you can't overclock them without mods. And even those you where you can are limited due to heat and power issues.

overclocking + sony vaio = smoke comming from under your bed (where your laptop is laying about)

"Anyone who cannot form a community with others, or who does not need to because he is self-sufficient [...] is either a beast or a god." Aristotle
Intel Core 2 Quad | XFX 780i SLI | 8GB Corsair | Gigabyte GeForce 8800GTX | Auzentech X-Fi Prelude| Logitech G15 | Logitech MX Revolution | LG Flatron L2000C | Logitech Z-5500 Digital

#3 Klinkaroo

Klinkaroo

• Members
  • 1,139 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:16 AM

Posted 16 February 2006 - 08:09 PM

Problem with laptops is that: