Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Smart Protection attacked 2 clients

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jerseyguy

jerseyguy

• Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:26 PM

Posted 19 February 2012 - 05:51 PM

I am a tech consultant in Los Angeles and have experienced a rash of clients getting Spyware infections since January 1.

I want to thank the experts bleeping computer who posted the Spyware Removal instructions for aiding me to successfully remove as many as 12 infected clients in 6 weeks.

Just this past Friday I received a call from one of my clients describing a Spyware infection that he got after opening an attachment to a FedEx email.

When I went right over & checked his system he had a Smart Protection 2012 infection on his XP desktop.

As I had doe before I used my iPad to find the solution on BleepingComputer, but after following the removal instructions step by step there were some minor anomalies and the infection came back.

I tried for 4 hours and was unable to rid the system of Smart Protection 2012.

Later that afternoon, another client contacted me explaining they opened an attachment to a FedEx email and were infected as well.

I went there and following the same steps successfully removed the Smart Protection 2012 infection.