Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Network Share Remember Password

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 vigge_sWe

vigge_sWe

• Members
  • 55 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:20 PM

Posted 18 February 2012 - 08:55 AM

So I got my NAS set up with SAMBA sharing with my password so no one else in the local area should be able to access it. The problem is that I do not have a password on my computer and windows 7 is constantly trying to login to the network share with the username and no password on each boot. I have to manually enter my username and password each time I boot and the "remember the password" checkbox doesn't work.

One solution is to have a VBScript remove the network share and readd it using the username and password on each boot, but I wonder if there is a more elegant way of doing it than that?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Zen Seeker

Zen Seeker

• Members
  • 695 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:20 AM

Posted 18 February 2012 - 01:42 PM

To keep it simple use the task scheduler to do just that; make and connect a share by either your login or trigger of your choice.